Friday, March 22
Yateley, UK


Cup Preview: YUFC v Overton United

Opposition: Overton United F.C.
Chairman: Derek Burry
Joint-Managers: Joe Lawler & Ben Dillon
Est: 1913
Home Colours: Blue and white stripes, white shorts, blue socks
Away Colours: Gold shirt, black shorts, gold socks
Form: L W D W L L

Overton United are based in Overton, near Basingstoke in Hampshire, and were established in 1913. The club is affiliated to the Hampshire Football Association and is an FA Charter Standard club. They currently play in the Hampshire Premier League Senior Division. Last season, the club finished 11th of 16 in this league.

They play their games at Overton Recreation Centre and currently sit in 5th position in the Hampshire Premier Football League. Their record so far is P13 W8 D1 L4, scoring 18 goals and conceding 20. Their last match was a 3-2 defeat away to Netley Central Sports in the Hampshire Premier Senior Cup. Overton’s top scorer this season is George Hallahan who has scored 9 goals in 7 games so far this season.

Former Woking F.C. assistant manager, Matt Crossley, who worked alongside Glenn Cockerill, was an Overton United player in 1986.

Yateley United were unlucky in their last game after drawing 3-3 with Risborough Rangers Reserves, placing them 6th in the Hellenic League Division 2 East. Read the full match report HERE.

A History:
Overton United F.C. has been playing competetive football since at least 1932, starting in the local Basingstoke leagues.

In 1970, Overton joined the Hampshire League Division 3 East, where they promptly won promotion as runners-up. After a series of promising seasons in Division 2, a 4th place final position in 1975 was enough to clinch promotion to Division 1. In a highly competitive top-flight, Overton did well to survive their first season, but were relegated back in 1977 and stayed there until the end of the 1985-86 season when they won promotion to Division 1. Four seasons later, they were relegated back to Division 2, but after two seasons were promoted back up in 1991-92 as runners up. They stayed in Division 1 until 1997 when they finished bottom and were relegated again.

After a league re-organisation, they were placed in Division 1, but lasted only one season and were back in Division 2 for the start of the 2000-01 season. In 2002-03 they finished as runners up of Division 2 again and were promoted back again. After one season, the club joined the newly formed Division 3 of the Wessex League in 2004-05.

They played in this league for three seasons where they became one of the founder members of Hampshire Premier League, and have stayed in this division ever since. In 2012, ex-Basingstoke Town goalkeeper and Hampshire League Referee, John Findlay, was appointed Chairman of the club. He stepped down from the role at the start of the 2013/14 season and was replaced by Gary Savory. Savory resigned from the position during the 2015-16 season, and Adrian Gibbons took over. In 2017, Derek Burry was appointed as the club’s new chairman.

We look forward to an entertaining cup tie on Saturday as we welcome Overton United to Cody Sports & Social Club.

Leave a Reply